Specialized Turbo eMTB Races Return To GNCC Schedule

Eight-race series runs March–October.

The eMTB race series starts March 14.Courtesy GNCC

The Specialized Turbo eMTB GNCC National Championship returns for another eight-race schedule in 2020 in conjunction with the Grand National Cross Country motorcycle series.

The eMTB races were introduced at select GNCC venues in 2018, expanding to an eight-race schedule last year offering competition in five different classes: XC1 Pro, Amateur, Women, Masters (age 50+), and Youth (age 12–17). The same classes return this year.

Last year’s races averaged about 16 racers per class, with the largest class of the season going off the start line with 40 riders. The women’s class wasn’t as well attended: Just one woman, Ashley Hendershot, raced every single round by herself in the women’s class. “So far, unfortunately we haven’t been successful getting more women into the race, but that’s one of our many goals for the year,” said Saul Leiken, USA category leader for Turbo and Active at Specialized Bicycle Components.

The races are open to Class 1 ebikes—pedal assist up to 20 mph and no throttle, with a motor no more powerful than 750 watts. The eMTBs also must be equipped with approved drive units from Bosch, Brose, Panasonic, Shimano, or Yamaha. Electric conversion kits on traditional pedal bikes are not allowed. All bikes are subject to inspection prior to the race.

The ebike-curious who haven’t bought their own eMTB yet can also demo Specialized Turbo Levos at the race venues and go on organized rides with Hendershot or Charlie Mullins, the 2019 season’s GNCC eMTB men’s champion. The demo bikes are also available for racing.

Running from March to October, the Specialized Turbo eMTB GNCC National Championship series dates and venues are:

  • Round 1: March 14—The General; Washington, Georgia
  • Round 2: May 2—Mountain Ridge; Somerset, Pennsylvania
  • Round 3: May 16—Gladiator; Bowling Green, Kentucky
  • Round 4: June 27—Snowshoe; Snowshoe, West Virginia
  • Round 5: August 1—Loretta Lynn; Hurricane Mills, Tennesses (eMTB only)
  • Round 6: September 12—The Mountaineer; Beckley, West Virginia
  • Round 7: September 26—Tomahawk; Odessa, New York
  • Round 8: October 10—Mason-Dixon; Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania

For more information, visit gnccracing.com.